The 4th International Workshop on Security in Cloud Computing (CloudSec 2012)

In Conjunction with 41st International Conference on Parallel Processing (ICPP 2012)


Pittsburgh, PA, September 12, 2012


(CloudSec'2012 Program)



Call For Papers (pdf)


Cloud Computing has generated interest from both industry and academia since 2007. As an extension of Grid Computing and Distributed Computing, Cloud Computing aims to provide users with flexible services in a transparent manner. Services are allocated in a “cloud”, which is a collection of devices and resources connected through the Internet. Before this paradigm can be widely accepted, the security, privacy and reliability provided by the services in the cloud must be well established.

CloudSec’2012 will bring researchers and experts together to present and discuss the latest developments and technical solutions concerning various aspects of security issues in Cloud Computing. CloudSec’2012 seeks original unpublished papers focusing on theoretical analysis, emerging applications, novel system architecture construction and design, experimental studies, and social impacts of Cloud Computing. Both review/survey papers and technical papers are expected.

CloudSec’2012 also welcomes short papers related to Security in Cloud Computing, which summarize speculative breakthroughs, work-in-progress, industry featured projects, open problems, new application challenges, visionary ideas, and preliminary studies.

The topics include but not limited to:

          Emerging threats to cloud-based services

          Security models for new services

          Cloud-aware web service security

          Information hiding in Cloud Computing

          Securing distributed data storage in the cloud

          Privacy and security in Cloud Computing


          Robust network architecture

          Cloud Infrastructure Security

          Job deployment in the Cloud

          Intrusion detection/prevention

          Denial-of-Service (DoS) attacks and defense

          Robust job scheduling

          Secure resource allocation and indexing

          Secure payment for cloud-aware services

          User authentication in cloud-aware services

          Security for emerging cloud programming models


Submission Guidelines


Original papers from the above mentioned and related topics will be considered. Please submit regular full papers (8 pages) and short papers (2 pages) including all figures, tables, and references. Authors are requested to follow the standard IEEE double column format with Font 10 (


Papers should be submitted electronically in pdf format through the CMT website ( together with a short abstract (approximately 150 words). Submitted papers must not have appeared in or be under review/consideration for another workshop, conference or a journal during the review process. Each submission will be reviewed by at least three reviewers.


If you don’t have a CMT account, you will need to create one.


Important Dates

Submission deadline:          Apr. 30, 2012

Notification date:                June 01, 2012

Camera-ready due:             June 20, 2012

Conference dates:               Sept. 12, 2012


Steering Committee

Dr. Rajkumar Buyya, Univ. of Melbourne, Australia

Dr. Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, USA

Dr. Keesook J. Han, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA

Dr. Peter Mueller, IBM Zurich Research Lab, Switzerland

Dr. Douglas Summerville, SUNY – Binghamton, USA

Dr. Shambhu Upadhyaya, SUNY – Buffalo, USA

Organizing Committee

General Chairs:            Dr. Kai Hwang

                                        Univ. of Southern California, USA


                                        Dr. Roger Zimmermann

                                        National University of Singapore, Singapore



TPC Chairs:                  Dr. Yu Chen

                                        Binghamton University, USA


                                        Dr. Pu Liu

                                        IBM Endicott Center, USA



Publicity Chairs:      Dr. Wei-Shinn Ku

                                        Auburn University, USA


                                        Dr. Zhou Su

                                        Waseda University, Japan


Technical Program Committee

Isaac Agudo, University of Malaga, Spain

Omar Alfandi, University of Goettingen, Germany

Reza Azarderakhsh, University of Western Ontario, Canada

Shiping Chen, CSIRO ICT Centre, Australia

Yingying (Jennifer) Chen, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA

Paolo Gasti, University of California, Irvine, USA

Debasis Giri, Haldia Institute of Technology, India

Kartik Gopalan, SUNY – Binghamton, USA

Victor Govindaswamy, Texas A&M University – Texarkana, USA

Yong Guan, Iowa State University, USA

Jizhong Han, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Science, China

Ching-Hsien Hsu, Chung Hua University, Taiwan

Chin-Tser Huang, University of South Carolina, USA

Chun-Chieh Huang, Industrial Technology Research Institute, Taiwan

Dong-Seong, Kim, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Ricky Kwok, Hong Kong University, Hong Kong

Changhoon Lee, Hanshin University, Korea

Xiaolin (Andy) Li, University of Florida, USA

Shiguo Lian, France Telecom R.& D., Beijing, China

Hui-Tang Lin, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

Wenjing Lou, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA

Yan Luo, University of Massachusetts - Lowell, USA

Muthucumaru Maheswaran, McGill University, Canada

Gerard Parr, University of Ulster, UK

Neeli R. Prasad, Aalborg University, Denmark

Kui Ren, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA

Lukas Ruf, Consecom AG, Switzerland

Haiyong Xie, University of Science & technology, China

Yan Zhang, Simula Research Laboratory & University of Oslo, Norway

Xiangfei Zhu, Yahoo! Inc., USA